Maree’s Musings 1st Birthday

15 Mar

Wow. What an exciting year!

I can’t even begin to describe the fun I’ve had since I started this blog a year ago. I’ve discovered some amazing books and authors and, more importantly, connected with some of wonderful bloggers. I’ve even had the opportunity to meet some and chat (and chat and chat) about books in real life. Honestly, I could not have envisioned having this much fun a year ago.

Thank you to each and every person who has commented on or followed my blog. I appreciate all of your comments and thank you so much for taking the time to write them and read my posts.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading some of my ramblings, because I’ve certainly enjoyed sharing my love of books and The Beatles.

To celebrate, I am sharing my love of Aussie YA by giving away a copy of Girl Defective by Simmone Howell. I was lucky enough to meet Simmone last night at a small event hosted by my local library as part of the Somerset Celebration of Literature. I’ll be putting up a short recap next week, but it was a fantastic event with a really interesting panel discussion between four Aussie YA authors.

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY VIA RAFFLECOPTER.

The giveaway will run for 3 weeks, ending on APRIL 5, 2013. Please be sure to read the giveaway policies here before entering. The competition is open internationally. Good luck!
42 Responses to “Maree’s Musings 1st Birthday”

  1. Emily March 15, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    Happy 1st birthday! Here’s to many more to come :-)

    • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

      Thanks Emily! I hope there’s many more too ;)

  2. Janeal Falor March 15, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    Happy Blog Birthday! That’s an exciting accomplishment =D

  3. Wendy Darling March 15, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    Well, how can I resist entering a giveaway like this?! Thanks so much for the lovely contest, and as I said on FB, happy happy happy blogoversary! And cheers to another blogging year. :)

    • Wendy Darling March 15, 2013 at 10:16 am #

      Oh, I’m excited to read the book because I’ve been eyeing all the 4 and 5 star reviews on GoodReads. PLUS I remember your book manicure. :D

      • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

        Thank you Wendy! Aussie YA is irresistible, don’t you know? ;) I’ve just started this and there is something remarkable about it – I love it already.

  4. booksetceterablog March 15, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    I’m excited to read this book because, OMG how exciting would it be to live over a record store?!?!

    And happy blog birthday to you :)

    Natalie @ booksetceterablog.wordpress.com

    • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks Natalie! A record store would be amazing. Especially if my favourite Beatles hits were playing all day…hehe.

  5. Vivien March 15, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Congrats!!! This sounds so good! Plus those glowing reviews. I can’t resist!

    • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Thanks Vivien! Good luck!

  6. reynje March 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Congratulations! I can’t believe it’s been a year already – time flies! Hope the next year is full of amazing books and lots more awesome bookish catch ups :)

    • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

      First year of blogging and uni! 2012 simply flew by! Thank you, I certainly hope I keep discovering more amazing books and great people to share them with. :)

  7. Elizabeth Baldwin March 15, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Happy blogoversary! And thank you for this awesome giveaway :)

    I almost feel ashamed admitting this, but… I’ve never read a Simone Howell novel! All her novels, but especially Girl Detective have such amazing ratings and reviews, so I’m absolutely dying to read it :)

    • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

      Thank YOU for commenting and reading and chatting books (and other things) on twitter!

      I hadn’t gotten around to it either, but I’ve started this book and it’s fantastic! Good luck :)

  8. annalizscott March 15, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    First off, happy 1st year! It’s been great reading all you posts and sharing Queensland-related stuff on twitter :)
    Heard very good things about this book, so fingers crossed x

    • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

      Thanks Anna, I’m glad someone finds that stuff at least remotely interesting ;) Good luck!

  9. Chachic March 16, 2013 at 12:43 am #

    Happy Happy Blogoversary! :D I love how your post is all about the fun that you’ve been having with your blog. I also think this blog layout is cute, I had it for a while some time ago.

    • Chachic March 16, 2013 at 12:44 am #

      Ooops I didn’t see the Rafflecopter question until after I’ve sent my comment. I’m excited to read this book because of the glowing reviews that I’ve seen on Goodreads. And I’ve yet to read a Simone Howell novel.

      • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

        Thanks so much Chachic! Blogging has been a wonderful adventure. :)

  10. Shelver506 March 16, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    Wendy Darling wants it, and if Wendy Darling wants it, it must be good!

    • Michelle March 16, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

      Haha that’s true! Also, Aussie YA is just the best!

  11. Belle March 16, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    Happy blog birthday! x

  12. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews March 17, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    Congrats on your first year of blogging and thanks for the giveaway! :)

    • Michelle March 19, 2013 at 8:36 am #

      Thank you! I’m glad I had an excuse to share the Aussie YA love ;)

  13. Jasprit March 18, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    Congratulations on your one year blogoversary Maree! A year has flown by so quick! Thanks so much for the great giveaway too! :)

    • Michelle March 19, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks Jasprit! I can’t believe how quick it went! :)

  14. Lauren M March 18, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!

    I hope there are many more wonderful years of blogging to come :)

    Best of luck for this year too!

  15. VeganYANerds March 19, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    Happy, happy, happy blogiversary! Girl Defective is the most perfect book to celebrate with!

    • Michelle March 19, 2013 at 8:40 am #

      Absolutely! Especially as it has quite a few Beatles references ;) Thank you so much :)

  16. Nomes March 20, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    congrats on your first bloggy bday Michelle x

  17. Nomes March 20, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    Eep! I hit post and was like: gah! Maree! stop posting! Stop! but it was all in motion.

    sorry, my brain is all over the place. i just finished reading chachic’s post where she met up with michelle…

    xo Nomes

    • Michelle March 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

      Thanks Nomes! And don’t worry about it, I’m kind of using Michelle or Maree now. I doesn’t matter which. I’m confusing like that ;)

  18. Maggie (@oypoodle) March 23, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Your first year toward taking over the publishing/writing world! Congratulations!! I can’t wait to see what else you have in store for us. :)

    • Michelle March 24, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      Awww thank you Maggie! :D

  19. CJ Flood March 25, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    I adore Simmone Howell’s writing. I was lucky enough to meet her at an Arvon writing retreat in Shropshire, and she was just as funny and self-deprecating in person as her characters always are. I cannot wait to read GIRL DEFECTIVE.

    • Michelle March 31, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      I love her writing style too, and was so pleased to meet her in person as well. It’s always fantastic when authors are just as lovely in real life.

  20. Karielle Stephanie (@touurnesol) March 25, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Happy blogoversary hun! I can’t wait to try Girl Defective because it sounds like the perfect edgy YA read.

    ♥ Karielle Stephanie @ Books à la Mode

    • Michelle March 31, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

      Thanks Karielle! I’m halfway through and it’s just gorgeous!

  21. Tonile (@mycupandchaucer) April 3, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    Happy first birthday! That’s so exciting for you. I stumbled across your blog by chance, thanks to a Twitter retweet, and I’m so glad I did. I’ve had Girl Defective on my TBR pile for a while now. A book that authentically captures the intricacies of Australian suburbs is always worth a look, and Aussie YA is just so exciting at the moment, so to have a book that ticks both boxes is sure to be a hit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

